100 Years. 800 Members Strong.
100 Years. 800 Members Strong.

We are seeking deserving recipients to receive awards at the Bangor Region Chamber's annual dinner on Wed., Jan. 23, 2012 (Save the date!) at the Bangor Civic Center.

Nominators may submit the same individual, group, or organization for more than one award, though no recipient will actually be selected to receive more than one in the same year. The deadline for submitting nominations is 5pm, Wed., Nov. 7. 

Nominations are being sought for the following:

Norbert X. Dowd Award

Our most prestigious honor recognizes a member of the business community whose commitment of time, resources and talent has made the Bangor region a better place to pursue one's livelihood and dreams.  

GENERAL INTENT: The Norbert X. Dowd Award is intended to honor an individual(s) who serves their business and/or business community with distinction and who contributes significantly to the overall good of business and the betterment of the communities of the Bangor region.

GENERAL ADVANCEMENT OF BUSINESS: The recipient should contribute his/her talents and abilities to the overall betterment of the Bangor region.

CREATIVE ABILITY: The recipient should show a consistent high degree of creative or original thinking.

BUSINESS SERVICE: The recipient should show a solid and continuous record of achievement for a company as an employee.

COMMUNITY SERVICE: The recipient should be active in civic, religious or organizational groups dedicated to some phase of human or social welfare in the Bangor region.

PERSONAL INTEGRITY: The recipient should show constructive activity and integrity in all business relations.

Business of the Year
This award recognizes a business operating our region that has set an example in leadership, innovation and quality, and/or has provided noteworthy economic opportunity to the people of the Bangor Region.

Catherine Lebowitz Award for Public Service
This honor goes to an individual from the public sector who has advanced the cause of economic opportunity in the Bangor Region.

Community Service Award
This recognition goes to a group or organization that has made the Bangor Region's quality of life better, either by helping others directly or by enhancing community or regional assets that add to that quality of life.

Non-Profit of the Year
This award is given to a non-profit agency that has made a notable difference in the lives of the people who live in the Bangor Region.

Arthur A. Comstock Professional Service Award
This award recognizes an individual who embodies Arthur's generous spirit, donating over an extended period of time his or her expertise to both the Chamber and the community at large.

Bion and Dorain Foster Entrepreneurship Award
This is the Chamber's newest award, recognizing an individual or business whose innovation and creativity have succeeded in opening new economic opportunities for our region.

Click for a list of past award winners

Click for an on-line registration form

To nominate a person or business for an award, please complete the on-line registration form, then hit the submit button. As an alternative, please submit a letter of support for each of your nominees. Make sure you provide the name of the nominee(s) and the award(s) for which you would like them to be considered. You may make submissions through this website, via email to kcole@bangorregion.com or by mail to Awards, BRCC, 208 Maine Ave., Bangor, ME 04401. All nominations must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., Wed., Nov. 7. It is essential that you request confirmation that the nomination was received.