Submit Your Nominations for our 2023 Annual Awards

Submit your nominations today!

We are seeking nominations for awards that will be handed out at our Annual Business Breakfast on Wednesday, January 11th and Annual Dinner on Friday, January 27, 2023 (Save the dates!) at the Cross Insurance Center in Bangor.

Nominators may submit the same individual, group, or organization for more than one award, though no recipient will actually be selected to receive more than one in the same year. Businesses and organizations must be a Chamber member in good standing to be eligible for awards. Current members are listed in the Member Directory at Individuals do not need to be affiliated with a Chamber member. Self-nominations are not permitted, however a member of an organization’s board of directors may submit a nomination on its behalf.

***Beginning with the 2023 awards, named awards will be retired (after 10 years) with respect and appreciation for the individuals the awards are named after. The Chamber will determine if the award shall be renamed, or retired entirely.  

Deadline for nominations – Wednesday, October 12th at 5PM.

Make sure you provide the name of the nominee(s) and the award(s) for which you would like them to be considered.
Submit your nominations via email to, fill out a form below or postal mail to Bangor Region Chamber, 2 Hammond Street, Suite One, Bangor, ME 04401.

Previous winners and their award videos (produced by Sutherland Weston Marketing Communications)
2015  |  2016  |  2017  |  2018  |  2019  |  2020  |  2022

Award Descriptions:

Norbert X. Dowd Award
Our most prestigious honor recognizes a member of the business community whose commitment of time, resources and talent has made the Bangor region a better place to pursue one’s livelihood and dreams.
  • GENERAL INTENT: The Norbert X. Dowd Award is intended to honor an individual(s) who serves their business and/or business community with distinction and who contributes significantly to the overall good of business and the betterment of the communities of the Bangor region.
  • GENERAL ADVANCEMENT OF BUSINESS: The recipient should contribute his/her talents and abilities to the overall betterment of the Bangor region.
  • CREATIVE ABILITY: The recipient should show a consistent high degree of creative or original thinking.
  • BUSINESS SERVICE: The recipient should show a solid and continuous record of achievement for a company as an employee.
  • COMMUNITY SERVICE: The recipient should be active in civic, religious or organizational groups dedicated to some phase of human or social welfare in the Bangor region.
  • PERSONAL INTEGRITY: The recipient should show constructive activity and integrity in all business relations.


PAST RECIPIENTS INCLUDE: Harold L. Nason, Frederic S. Newman,Jon Grant, Herbert E. Sargent, Larry K. Mahaney, Curtis Hutchins, Galen Cole, Wilma A. Bradford,D. Arthur Johnson, R. Leon Williams, Douglas H. Brown, Samuel Saliba, Thomas A. Greenquist, Carl & Helen Libby,Malcolm E. Jones, Stephen & Tabitha King, G. Clifton Eames, Margo Cobb, Stan Israel, Joe Cyr, Ralph Leonard, Leonard Minsky, Peirce Webber, Abe & Frieda Miller, Lloyd E. Willey, Jack E. Quirk, Harold O. Bouchard, Charles F. Bragg, Ed Darling, Richard & Elizabeth Warren, Edwin N. Clift, Sister Mary Norberta Malinowski, John Rohman, Danny and Carla Lafayette, Gary Smith, John W. Bragg, Peter G. Vigue, Miles Theeman, John Simpson, Andrew Hamilton, Jean Deighan, Michael Aube, Carol Epstein, Steve Schley

“Spirit of the Region” Cultural Award

This award seeks to recognize an individual, business or organization that has made significant contributions to the arts, entertainment and cultural opportunities in the Bangor region.

PAST RECIPIENT: The Nite Show with Danny Cashman, Brian Hinrichs and the Bangor Symphony Orchestra

2023 “Spirit of the Region” NOMINATION FORM 

LARGE Business of the Year   
This award recognizes a business (over 25 employees) operating in our region that has set an example in leadership, innovation and quality, and/or has provided noteworthy economic opportunity to the people of the Bangor Region.


PAST RECIPIENTS INCLUDE: WABI-TV, Bangor Daily News, Telford Aviation, Sargent Corporation, Cianbro, Miller Drug, Bangor Savings Bank, Oxford Networks, Cross Insurance, WBRC Architects-Engineers, Hollywood Casino, RH Foster Energy, Darling’s, Dysart’s, CES, Inc., GE Gas Power, 

NEW SMALL Business of the Year   
Small businesses account for approximately 80% of the Bangor Region Chamber’s total membership and we do everything possible to ensure their success.  This award recognizes a business (with less than 25 full or part-time employees) for their tireless work and embodiment of the spirit of enterprise.


M. Jane Irving Community Service Award   

This recognition goes to a individual, group or organization that has made the Bangor Region’s quality of life better, either by helping others directly or by enhancing community or regional assets that add to that quality of life.


PAST RECIPIENTS INCLUDE: George Eaton II, Hilda Hutchins McCollum, Senior League World Series, Bill Lucy, Hammond Street Senior Center, City of Bangor, Mark Woodward, Eastern Maine Community College, Bangor Housing Authority, Bangor Area Recovery Network, Norman Heitmann

Non-Profit of the Year   

This award is given to a non-profit organization that has made a notable difference in the lives of the people who live in the Bangor Region.


PAST RECIPIENTS INCLUDE: American Folk Festival, Bangor Humane Society, Eastern Maine Medical Center, Bangor Symphony Orchestra, Maine Discovery Museum, Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals of EMHS, Acadia Hospital, Foster Center for Student Innovation at the University of Maine, Greater Bangor Convention and Visitors Bureau, Penquis, Good Shepherd Food Bank, Bangor Public Library, United Way of Eastern Maine

NEW Sarah Dubay Professional Service Award (given at our Annual Business Breakfast on January 11th)

This award recognizes an individual who has donated his or her expertise over an extended period of time to advancing the work of the Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce while also making positive contributions to the community at large.


Innovation and Entrepreneurship Award

Recognizing a newer business whose innovation and creativity have succeeded in opening new economic opportunities for our region.


Stay up-to-date on all of our events with our FREE email newsletter!

Our Premier Members