2018 Award Winners

2018 Award Winners

See all the videos, produced by Sutherland-Weston Marketing Communications, by clicking here. 

Norbert X. Dowd Award – Jean Deighan

Jean Deighan, is the Co-founder and CEO of Deighan Wealth Advisors. A driven volunteer and philanthropist, Deighan has worked tirelessly to build community throughout Bangor’s business, non-profit, and cultural scenes.  Deighan and her firm support the Bangor Symphony Orchestra, Penobscot Theatre Company, Junior Achievement, Olympia’s Leaders, the American Folk Festival, and countless other organizations. The firm has underwritten free admission for all to the University of Maine Museum of Art.  In addition to philanthropic efforts, Deighan has volunteered to support community organizations, including the Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce, Eastern Maine Development Corporation, Rotary Club, and the Maine Community Foundation.

Business of the Year: Dysart’s

The Dysart’s family of businesses is celebrating 50 years of service to central and eastern Maine. Starting with a truck stop and restaurant in Hermon, they have grown to include two large restaurants, fuel and lubricant sales, a full-service marina, event catering, and travel stops from Pittsfield to Lincoln. Combined, the businesses employ more than 300 people.  A nation-wide tourist attraction with a strong commitment to the community, Dysarts has provided noteworthy economic opportunity to the Bangor region.  Their charitable giving includes supporting the Lafayette Family Cancer Center, Champion the Cure Challenge, Pine Tree Society, Alzheimer’s Association and countless others.

Catherine Lebowitz Award for Public Service: Dr. Susan J Hunter

Currently in her fourth and final year as UMaine’s president, Dr. Susan J. Hunter is capping off an impressive 30-year career as an influential educator, researcher, and champion of economic development. Under Dr. Hunter’s leadership, UMaine has recruited its largest incoming classes and the largest number of out-of-state students in its history. The university has also seen a 22 percent increase in private giving to its Annual Fund thanks to her efforts. Hunter has served on the boards of the Maine School of Science and Mathematics, Maine Math & Science Alliance, Bangor Symphony Orchestra, Maine & Company and the Maine Development Foundation.

M. Jane Irving Community Service Award: Bangor Housing Authority

Bangor Housing Authority was created by the City of Bangor in 1967, to provide safe, affordable housing to low income individuals and families. For the last 50 years, the organization has provided quality, affordable, and environmentally responsible housing. Bangor Housing Authority owns and manages more than 500 public housing units and administers more than 400 Section 8 vouchers, allowing individuals and families to live in private housing. The organization’s Family Self Sufficiency (FSS) program works to support residents and families to achieve financial independence and place them on a path to end generational poverty and reliance on public assistance.

Non-Profit of the Year: Penquis

For 50 years, Penquis has worked to ensure that our residents have access to safe, affordable housing; reliable transportation; economic stability; and that children have the opportunity to achieve optimal health and development in safe, nurturing families and environments.   Penquis’ programs include affordable housing, childcare and head start, financial services, transportation, business development, family support and counseling, senior-focused services, and student loan counseling.   Penquis ranks among the 20 largest employers in Penobscot County, generating more than $50 million in economic impact and directly investing more than $11 million in the economy through their home ownership and business financing programs.

Arthur Comstock Professional Service Award: Stephen Rich

Stephen Rich has been a long-term, enthusiastic supporter of the Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce, including serving on the Board of Directors, co-chairing the Legislative Affairs Committee, Chairing the Governmental Affairs Committee and facilitating Hot Stove events.   Rich serves on numerous nonprofit boards, including the Eastern Maine Healthcare System as current Vice Chair, the Maine State Chamber of Commerce, Rotary Club, Bangor Nursing & Rehab Center, and the Charlotte White Center. Rich joined WBRC Architects/Engineers in 1980 as an architect, and retired several years ago as the President and CEO after more than 30 years with the firm.

Bion and Dorain Foster Entrepreneurship Award: Adam Moskovitz

Adam Moskovitz is the founder and CEO of ANM Properties, a Bangor-based company offering commercial properties, luxury apartments, home rentals, and expert architectural design for new construction or renovations. Most recently, ANM properties acquired six buildings on Exchange Street in Bangor (known as the Nichols Block).  In less than a year, significant renovations have taken place and several organizations have made the Nichols Block their home, including: Thompson-Hamel, City Drawers, the Bangor Symphony Orchestra and Bangor Arts Exchange. Black Bear Brewing Company will soon open their second tap room at Nichols Block.

Stay up-to-date on all of our events with our FREE email newsletter!

Our Premier Members